Jee Mains Reservation Criteria: Category Wise Reservation

If you are a JEE aspirant and you are going to write your JEE Main exam in 2022 then this article might be beneficial for you. A notice was released by the National Testing Agency (NTA) about the reservation criteria for JEE Mains exams. Yes, a reservation criterion is provided by National Testing Agency for the JEE aspirants who belong to other backward castes (OBC-NCL), scheduled caste (SC), scheduled tribe (ST), economically weaker section (EWS), and persons with disabilities (PWD). 

Apart from this reservation for female candidates and state-wise reservation was already in process. Candidates who fall under these categories will get some benefit in terms of age limit, cut off marks, seat allocation, and other such processes.Some institutes follow the reservation criteria which is officially released by NTS but some institutes follow the home state quota and other quotas related to that particular state. So, before filling the exam form all these things must be clear to you to avoid any problem in future and hence, you can refer to this article to understand the process of reservation criteria and can clear all your doubts and confusion. You can also refer to mock test for JEE Mains

JEE Main Reservation for according to official notification

Categories Reservation Percentage
General Economically Weaker Sections (GEN-EWS) 10%
Scheduled Castes (SC) 15%
Scheduled Tribes (ST) 7.5%
Other Backward Classes – Non-Creamy Layer (OBC-NCL) 27%
Persons with Disabilities 5% in each category

JEE Main Reservation Criteria for OBC-NCL

Candidates who fall under the category of OBC- NCL can avail of the benefits of the reservation. OBC- NCL means those candidates whose annual income is less than 6 lakh per annum. This category is also known as the non-creamy layer category. A list which is named as the central list is available on the site of Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC) which will be followed under reservation criteria of JEE Main exam. For more detail candidates can refer to this website. Hence, candidates who fulfil the eligibility criteria according to the central list can opt for a reserved category of other backward classes while filling the application form. The remaining candidate who does not fulfil the eligibility criteria according to the central list can opt for a reserved category of other backward class will have to choose the General category.

JEE Main Reservation Criteria for Persons with Disabilities (PwD)

Those candidates who suffer a disability of more than 40%, certified by the certifying authority can avail the benefit of reservation criteria for the JEE Mains examination.

Following are the categories of specified disabilities that will be considered under the PwD category:

  1. Difficulty in hearing and deaf
  2. Low vision or blindness 
  3. The locomotor disability includes cerebral palsy, leprosy cured, dwarfism, acid attack victims and muscular dystrophy, Autism, intellectual disability, specific learning disability and mental illness,
  4. Multiple disabilities
  5. Other specified disabilities

The following table can also explain the reservation criteria for PwD 

To avail of these benefits, a candidate has to go through certain processes. Following are those processes that a can has to follow to claim the benefits from the reservation.

  1. At the very first step, candidates have to select their category. It is not required to give any proof at this stage but the candidate must select the category carefully because if the wrong category is selected by them then you cannot change it later.
  2. A caste certificate has to be shown as proof at the time of counselling.
  3. If any candidate fails to prove his caste or he/she has not had any caste certificate then that candidate will be considered as a candidate of the general category.

JEE Main Reservation Criteria for female candidate

Some seats are reserved for female candidates also. Because 5% of seats are reserved for female candidates in most of the colleges, a female candidate can apply for JEE under the women quota system and can avail of the benefits. 

Also Check: JEE Mains Syllabus for your reference.

JEE Main Reservation Criteria GEN-EWS

There will be some candidates who belong to the general category and there will also be some candidates who belong to OBC, SC, ST but they don’t have any document to prove that. So, for those candidates, 10% of seats are reserved but there is a cache in it. 

These reservation criteria are only applicable for those candidates who fall under the following conditions-

  1. The candidate’s family income is below 8 lakhs.
  2. The candidate has not any valid document to prove that he/she belongs to OBC, SC, ST.
  3. The candidate has an income and asset certificate issued by a competent authority.

If any candidate’s annual income is below 8 lakh but any of the following conditions are applied on him/her,  then also he/she cannot avail the benefit of this reservation.

  1. If the family of the candidate owns the agricultural land of 5 acres or above.
  2. The candidate has 1000 sq. ft of a residential flat.
  3. The candidate’s family or parents have a residential plot of 100 sq. yard in notified municipalities.
  4. The candidate’s family or parents has a residential plot of 200 sq. yard of area other than the notified municipalities.

Following documents are required under JEE Mains exam

  1. A prescribed format of category certificate issued by the competent authority.
  2. Caste certificate or tribe certificate if a candidate belonging to SC/ST
  3. If a person is disabled then a disability certificate is required to avail of the reservation benefits. 

You can only appear for JEE Advance Examination, after clearing the JEE Mains Examination. For boosting your performance you can give JEE Mains previous year papers from Physics Wallah site.

Institute- wise Reservation for JEE Mains

There are some reservation criteria according to institute-wise also. All IIT’s falls under the central government and hence they follow all India quota while giving admission. But for the remaining institutes, the reservation criteria can be understood from the following table. 

Institute  Criteria 
NIT (Home State) 50% seats are reserved
NIT (Other State) 50% reservation is allocated to candidates from other states and union territories 
Central Funded Technical Institute (CFTI) Reservation is based on Home, State and All India Quota
State-funded institutes  Reservation is based on Home, State and All India Quota
IIT Reservation is based on Home, State and All India Quota
Government-funded Institutes  It is based on all India quota
IIT It is based on State quota


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button